Annual General Meeting 2018/19

The annual ARCB AGM was held Friday 24th of May in the Ard Ri hotel in Tuam. Outgoing President Tom Reilly thanked the committee and Regional Development Manager Peter Fitzgibbon for their support and work over the season before presenting the awards to various members for their outstanding efforts and achievements throughout the season. The winners on the night were as follows:

Senior Referee of the Year – Shane McElwee

Most Improved Referee of the Year – Andy Fogerty

Emerging Referee of the Year – Joe O’Donnell

Presidents Award – Mark Fitzgerald & Des Roche

Two of our members, Peter McCarthy & Pearce O’Malley, also hung up their whistles at the end of the season and were presented with a token of appreciation by the President for their commitment to the association.

We also welcome in our new committee for the 2019/20 season, the following members were elected on the night:

President – Jason Craughwell

Senior Vice President – Charlie Bourke

Junior Vice President – Christy O’Sullivan

Honorary Secretary – John Martin

Treasurer – Daithi Flood

Ordinary Members – Mossy Moran & Tom Horkan

Thank you to the outgoing committee and President for their efforts through out the 2018/19 season, and the very best of luck to the incoming committee. 

Give Reffin’ A Try

The ARCB are hosting an information evening in two locations across the province:

Monday 15th of April in Westport RFC (7pm KO)

Wednesday 17th of April in the Sportsground (7pm KO)

Monday 29th April in Sligo RFC (7pm KO)

This is a great opportunity to meet some of our members and get an idea of what is involved and what it takes to be a referee at Grassroots level!

To register your interest, email Peter Fitzgibbon at

Junior Cup and Plate Finals

This Sunday 24th March 2019 sees the Junior Cup and Plate finals return to the Sportsgrounds.

We want to wish all our members who are officiating on the day the very best of luck!!

Junior Cup Final (3pm KO) – Referee Daithi Flood, TJ1 Michael Goode, TJ2 Tom McNicholas

Junior Plate Final (1pm KO) – Referee Shane Gaughan, TJ1 Peter Gaughan, TJ2 Michael Gannon.

The very best of luck to all officials

RPS Sponsors ARCB Referees Rewards Scheme

RPS is proud to continue their sponsorship of the ARCB Referees Rewards scheme, which commenced in the 2017-18 season.

The scheme is administered by the Rugby Committee and was the brain child of Shane McElwee during his tenure as head of the Association.

RPS is a provider of Environmental, Engineering, Infrastructure Design, Planning and Project Management services. RPS employ over 100 people in our Galway and Sligo offices.

NUIG’s John Martin Receives ‘Mr. Boots’ Award

John Martin is presented with the ‘Mr. Boots’ award by former Ireland international referee John West (© Sita O’Driscoll)

John Martin of NUIG Rugby is the 2018 recipient of the ‘Mr. Boots’ award
for services to rugby.

John Martin’s roles over the years included fixtures secretary and team manager for NUIG Juniors and Under-20s, referee and All-Ireland League touch judge for the Connacht Association of Referees.

John was also involved in organising Intervarsity Championships for the Irish Universities Rugby Union. He is also involved in acting as fifth official and stewarding at Connacht matches in the Sportsground.

For full article, click here.