A great turnout and a warm welcome


We had a great turnout last weekend at the Connacht Hotel where Peter Fitzgibbon led a New Referees course. There was great engagement all round from the group. We extend a warm welcome from the ARCB to all participants and we look forward to seeing and supporting you pitch-side in the very near future.

Come along and join the fun


Come along and join the fun at our next New Referees Course. Just have a quick read of what some of our current members have to say:

“Anyone looking to stay involved in the game this is a great opportunity to be on the pitch in the thick of it. With a great support network in @connachtreferee
and channels to the top level. Also a great way to keep the fitness up” (Kenneth Loughrey)

“New course starts soon I would highly recommend great support and mentoring throughout @connachtrugby @connachtreferee” (Shane Tuohy)

“A great way to get involved in the grassroots game, get fit and help build future provincial and national success. All levels welcome and from my experience a really welcoming and fun group to work with.” (Johnny Quinn)

“One of the best ways to be involved in sport is to referee. Why not sign up to the next course on January 21st?” (Jason Craughwell)

Seasons Greetings


A very Happy Christmas to all of our referees at ARCB who give up their valuable time week in – week out to contribute to the continuing success of the game of rugby. Thank you one and all. Pink is definitely our colour as you can see from this selection of images of some of our most photogenic referees.

Ireland v South Africa Officials


From left: Paul Haycock (4th), Andrea Piardi (AR2), Nika Amashukeli (Referee), Mathieu Raynal (AR1), Andy Fogarty (5th) and John Martin (6th).

It was a great honour for the ARCB to have two of our finest in Andy Fogarty and John Martin perform the roles of 5th and 6th Officials at the recent Ireland v South Africa clash in the Autumn Internationals Series. Below is a short report from John on his duties for the day and his experience:

“I had the honour of being 6th Official at the Ireland vs South Africa International on Sat 5th November last.  Andy Fogarty was also involved as 5th.  So, first caps for us both!

        My own role was mainly with paperwork, and acting as assistant to Paul Haycock as 4th in after-match form filling.  One primary job, between us 4,5 & 6 is to time Sin bins, i.e. 10mins off stadium clock.  HIA, Head injury Assessments are 12 minutes normal time.

    The  ‘Tick box’ on the sub card, be it Injury, Tactical, Blood is important.  It is a behind the scenes support role. We would link with the TV floor manager when replacements come on, for TV graphic and commentator data.

    Andy had to operate the digital display for the 1st half individual replacements. It is not practical for multiple substitutions. I had Nika’s spare whistle in my pocket, in case there was a malfunction.

   Looking back, the experience I got as 5th official in the Sportsground several years back was a big help. You can’t be a spectator or get emotionally involved. You have to keep your wits about you and stay switched on.

      Overall, it was a great experience to be involved in an extremely competitive International involving the #1 ranked team versus the World Champions.”

                                                                          John J. Martin,

Action Stations!


A collection of images here from around the province showing some of our referees in action this season so far. We are a busy bunch!

Keith Haverty
Mike Ridley – Sligo v University of Galway
John Davey – Sligo v Creggs U18
Shane Tuohy
Siobhan Daly
John Fitzmaurice

More Great News!


In more great news our own Shane Gaughan and Shane Tuohy recently completed their first AIL matches in charge. Shane Gaughan was in Skerries for his match and Shane Tuohy was in Tullamore. The very best of luck to both in their first season at this high level from all at ARCB.

ARCB’s Shane Gaughan (centre) ably assisted by Joe McDermott to the left and Christopher Bonnie to the right.
ARCB’s Shane Tuohy (centre) ably assisted by Paul Rock to the left and Keith Spendlove to the right.

Congratulations Andy Fogarty


Congratulations to our very own Andy Fogarty who recently took on the duties of AR2 at at his first URC appointment in the match between Leinster and Benetton. He is pictured here on the left of image with Jaco Peyper (centre) and Paul Haycock (AR1; right). Far from just the one appointment Andy is out again this weekend as an AR at Ulster v Ospreys. Go well Andy from all at a proud ARCB!

Preseason Training


Preseason training is in full swing and nearing its completion. The final two sessions are Tuesday 23rd and Tuesday 30th August at 7pm, Tuam RFC. Thanks to Tuam RFC for facilitating and to Ann Caffrey for putting us through our paces.

Oh what a night!


Oh what a night that followed a fantastic day of golfing (controversial result for some) and some daredevil ziplining. The Station House Hotel in Clifden treated us to a delicious meal in fabulous surroundings on Saturday last. The night was enjoyed by over 60 guests and we were thoroughly entertained by our MC for the night John O’Boyle. John shared many amusing anecdotes and introduced ARCB President Charlie Bourke who provided us with some anecdotes of his own while performing his role as President with aplomb. Many thanks to our guest speaker for the night, Mossy Moran, and to Des Kavanagh for providing some inspiring words to ARCB members on behalf of the IRFU.

Yum Yum!
Dizzying heights!